Ask / Submit
6

Intex Aqua Fish review [not a question]

asked 2016-03-30 15:33:19 +0300

Ryan gravatar image

The first actual review I've seen of the first 3rd party jolla device:

http://www.trustedreviews.com/sailfish-aqua-fish-review

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

5

Didn't read further after seeing clear mistakes already in the beginning... this just must be an unreliable one. (1) "The first device to run Sailfish OS, the Jolla Tablet (2) "the first Sailfish smartphone, the Aqua Fish" (3) "Sailfish is an open-source OS"

reviewjolla ( 2016-03-30 16:08:13 +0300 )edit

Maybe the reviewer was supposed to type "the first phone made by other than Jolla" but who knows. Can only dream Indians will buy Aqua Fish in millions to prove the worthiness of SFOS. Well at least there's alternatives!

Asmodeus ( 2016-03-30 16:27:08 +0300 )edit

I read it some time ago and I understood that the author isn't aware of the existence of the Jolla phone.

Giacomo Di Giacomo ( 2016-03-30 17:13:13 +0300 )edit

Also Harmatten was an hybrid between MeeGo and Maemo.

flywheel ( 2016-04-06 11:27:31 +0300 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
3

answered 2017-05-27 11:48:27 +0300

Here are my review after using it for 6 months. I have used a JP1 before, so the review is

Pros:

  • A bit faster than the JP1
  • Battery life is a bit better than the JP1
  • Screen is more readable in sunshine than the JP1

Cons:

  • Camera quality is terrible. I know the "you get what you paid for", but is is still just terrible.
  • The black frame around the screen is painted and the painting started to fallen down in small pieces. To be honest I have no idea why did they painted it, because the frame itself is black (maybe to reduce the plastic phone feeling). It is not a pain but I mess up always something with small black paint pieces.
  • Sometimes something is messed up with the GSM part, noone can reach me (it rings out), and if I call someone it says Network error. I am only using 2G/3G and have no cellular data. JP1 with the same sim did not have this issue
edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

Power button is also worn out.

Kumar Abhishek ( 2017-06-05 10:45:03 +0300 )edit
1

answered 2017-05-25 04:26:11 +0300

DarkTuring gravatar image

updated 2017-05-25 04:45:53 +0300

My Intex Aquafish Review as of May 25th I have used the phone about 7 Months:
Exciting
1. Colour
2. Price
3. OS
4. Screen


Tiring:
1. Middling / slow performance
2. Only works in select countries for 3G and LTE (impossible to figure out which)
3. Camera is mediocre (true for all SFOS Jolla or licensed devices as of May 2017)
4. Lacking fingerprint reader, NFC, nanoSIM, water and weather protection

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

Lack of nanoSIM is a plus IMO.

Giacomo Di Giacomo ( 2017-05-25 15:46:36 +0300 )edit

Slow Performance? You didn't have the JP1 in comparison ;-) the reason I switched to Intex instead of the JP1 was basically double ram and faster & more cpu cores

PatsJolla ( 2017-05-26 17:36:11 +0300 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2016-03-30 15:33:19 +0300

Seen: 1,779 times

Last updated: May 27 '17