Ask / Submit
23

What happened with Sailfish OS Reviews blog? [answered]

asked 2016-06-28 22:39:40 +0300

this post is marked as community wiki

This post is a wiki. Anyone with karma >75 is welcome to improve it.

updated 2016-06-28 22:39:40 +0300

zlutor gravatar image

There is big silence on Sailfish OS Reviews blog since mid of May. No single word on JollaC, nothing. Same with related Twitter account.

It is pretty unusual - that blog/account was really well informed and actively maintained in the past... :(

Does anybody has any info what happened there?

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "the question is answered, an answer was accepted" by nthn
close date 2017-07-12 11:25:30.418363

Comments

8

hmmm.... @reviewjolla hello! how are you? Are you on holiday?

cemoi71 ( 2016-06-28 23:10:25 +0300 )edit

strange... activities of all of his blogs/twitter & co had stopped since 18 mai....

cemoi71 ( 2016-06-29 08:29:57 +0300 )edit

isn't it a James Noorie's blog? and since he's started working at jolla in spring, he can not be impartial or maybe under some kind of NDA

virgi26 ( 2016-06-29 11:07:50 +0300 )edit
1

no no, that's Simo's one...

cemoi71 ( 2016-06-29 11:56:26 +0300 )edit

It isn't the only blog that has faded. JollaUsers and JollaTides are even more outdated. All in all, it's a rather said state of affairs.

Venty ( 2016-06-29 14:01:29 +0300 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
16

answered 2017-07-12 03:59:01 +0300

Hi guys. Thanks for all your comments and concerns, and a big apology for not saying goodbye a year back.

@drummer12 Disappointments on tabletgate or refunds were not my reason to leave. When I joined contributing to this community, I did it as I believed it was an open source project. For those I'm willing to use my time, they tend to make this world a better place. During my contributing years, a promise after promise, a lie after lie, same lies still popping up on July 2017... It's just not something I'm willing to contribute to.

Anyway, I though a lot about all this during the past "holiday!" year. Leaving in silence is definitely not a nice way to go and it doesn't help anyone in any way. If many ppl would do like i did, the community would just shrink and those great promises would be even harder to keep.

After all, open source is ideal only when there is an engaged community willing to contribute in several ways.

Foe now, I might check where this community stands and with what values. Being away for long I don't know how are you or even how many are you. I value high all the ppl hanging in there through all these times, with all their different motives. Honestly, I've actually missed many of you :/

Well, now that I'm here, let's do something. Tomorrow I have a scheduled interview with Vesku on the Xperia X project. Let's see if I get something worth sharing, that would be nice. Please don't expect much activity in general. I'm right behind the corner, following up, waiting for certain kind of news :D In my heart I never left you, probably never will. You're great people in a great community. Thanks for understanding :)

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

1

Yeah! Welcome back, I'm eagerly waiting for your info again...

About Xperia stuff: ask them about new nokias, too. Even if Xperia is the most powerfull official phone hw for Sailfish, iproduction is going to be ended soon...

on the other hand it might mean they are available in volumes, too...

eerh, I do not know - let's see that interview! ;)

zlutor ( 2017-07-12 07:28:32 +0300 )edit

maybe you could ask if they started cbeta and if its going well and what is missing for a release (which obviously leads to when rhe release is but they wont say which is understandable)

NuklearFart ( 2017-07-12 10:11:08 +0300 )edit

thx from me to for all your dedication. well - other than most i see nokia more as a wearable manufacturer since they bought withings. so you may ask jolla guys if there arevany plabs to collaboeate on that level- like bluetooth low energy for sailfish or a n app for the wearables for sailfish.

but more important would be to know if there are plans to be the sony thing more than a port. meaning: a sailfish phone the average user can buy. are there any plans by jolla, sony or other paties to sell sony phones with sailfish already preinstalled?? if jolla hasnt thought about that by themselves-goodnight. by the way wasnt jolla split into a software only AND a hardware section?? jolla and sony will never spread much further than the.beta testers if you cant simply buy the phones with sailfish already installed..

kaktux ( 2017-07-12 10:22:51 +0300 )edit
1

jolla answered to that that they wont sell phones anymore.

another interesting thing related to xperia: will they give us a possibility to install sailfish without android for some testing before making the final product availiable and easy to install and so on?

NuklearFart ( 2017-07-12 12:13:58 +0300 )edit

them not selling tells nothing about possible plans to make phones with preinstalled software available by others/through other channels. like partners or such. like what part exactly did sony contribute to call it a partnership? there is no final product when soft and hardware dont come in one unit.

kaktux ( 2017-07-12 13:54:51 +0300 )edit

Question tools

Follow
7 followers

Stats

Asked: 2016-06-28 22:39:40 +0300

Seen: 1,233 times

Last updated: Jul 12 '17