Ask / Submit
1

Turing phone review is not encouraging [not a question]

asked 2016-08-21 18:42:11 +0300

partha9940 gravatar image

updated 2016-08-22 10:52:00 +0300

jiit gravatar image

Recently released review of Turing phone is not encouraging. The reviewer has always tried to prove that both the hardware and software at below performing. It's not at all in favour of SAILFISH OS. This kind of halfhearted approach from manufacturers are making the situation for the OS more critical. Let's hope the upcoming phone will get a better review..

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "not a real question" by nthn
close date 2016-08-21 22:46:37.113760

Comments

Do you have a link to the review?

PatsJolla ( 2016-08-21 19:16:28 +0300 )edit
1
1

The only thing that really worries me in this review is the lousy battery life. Losing "30-40 percent overnight without being used at all" indeed seems terrible. But this is not true for my Jolla 1, so it must be some kind of bug. Maybe Turing Robotics should not have handed out unfinished devices (the one in the test was not yet waterproof). This just harms their reputation. But I really love the design, a beautiful piece of hardware.

StaticNoiseLog ( 2016-08-21 20:50:27 +0300 )edit
7

My personal impression is that the reviewer gets quite subjective when he has to step outside his comfort zone. ...which is quite logical but also utterly disappointing. The article shows that he hasn't done his research properly. Thus he fails to get the facts right (one example is deleting pictures) and doesn't see the strengths of the OS (not even a tiny hint to the multitasking).

No phone is perfect and flaws should be pointed out with a keen eye on the details in their given context. The article fails to do so, which is utterly sad. The saddest part is that the reviewer gets the details wrong after dragging the phone out of the given context. A security-minded phone should indeed be very harshly scrutinized but not by playing games on it. ...and just imagine giving an Apple phone the thumbs down for not running android.

Let's hope that reviewer spends more time with the (replacement) phone getting to really know the OS so that the next article will be a tad more objective. I expected more from a professional reviewer, to be honest.

vattuvarg ( 2016-08-21 21:14:27 +0300 )edit

Beautiful? That is debatable.

hoschi ( 2016-08-21 21:50:41 +0300 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
16

answered 2016-08-21 21:57:43 +0300

ScumCoder gravatar image

If security is a top concern, we currently recommend an iPhone 6S or 6S Plus because of Apple’s commitment to privacy and their regular, reliable updates.

I laughed my ass off (pardon my Klingon).

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

1

I reacted to that sentence too.

vattuvarg ( 2016-08-21 22:03:13 +0300 )edit
1

"Theoretically, that means there’s no way for anyone to intercept communications and decrypt messages. Hacker-proof? Perhaps for now. We all know how that goes, though – with future generations of hacking tools, the phone will almost certainly become hackable." So essentially Turing's security aspects are worth nothing because eventually the device will become hackable. Maybe in 20 years, but that's irrelevant. A real joker this blogger guy :]

Okw ( 2016-08-23 10:29:05 +0300 )edit
6

answered 2016-08-21 20:33:14 +0300

tortoisedoc gravatar image

updated 2016-08-21 20:56:43 +0300

No Android as a negative? Hah that already prooves the review to be political...nonsense! Plus, all he's complaining about is the HW. HW is not keypoint of a OS.

This review is a joke. EDIT : to me.

" Common sense controls just don’t seem to be there, and when they are they’re difficult to access, like the ability to delete a photo after taking it without exiting the camera app and going to the gallery app, which requires a number of swipes and pulls to get to."

This part especially; did they spend more than a few minutes to review the OS actually? I'd NEVER have to delete a picture from gallery, at all.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

5

Well, you can dismiss it as political nonsense. However, in case the reviewer is honest, it's a view inside the head of normal customer. In the hypothetical case that a Sailfish OS product would be in view at a store, how long do you think average person would try to fiddle with it before making the simple decision of liking or not liking it? probably not even a minute. I wouldn't dismiss this review as utter nonsense that easily, even if the voice is negative.

Acce ( 2016-08-21 20:45:34 +0300 )edit
2

@Acce please do realize that nonsense refers to the fact of not having android as a negative, not to the whole review

tortoisedoc ( 2016-08-21 20:55:41 +0300 )edit
6

He said "Android and iOS may dominate the mobile industry, but there’s always room for improvement, and if a new operating system can come and change the world, we’re all for it."

And after that put "No Android (it runs Sailfish OS)" in LOWS :D

He did not even mention about multitasking. 30-40% battery loss overnight is clearly bug. My nexus 4 has bug too (running 2.0.1.11) it loses 10% overnight sometimes, but 30-40% on 3000 mah battery is too damn high.

matusala ( 2016-08-21 22:59:16 +0300 )edit

I wrote to him about multitasking etc. and he said this :( " I strongly disagree with the idea that Sailfish OS is the king of multitasking. Android, and even iOS, are far better at multitasking in my opinion. "

WTF is he talking about?

matusala ( 2016-08-22 08:13:33 +0300 )edit
1

He might have a different concept of multitasking it seems.

tortoisedoc ( 2016-08-22 08:26:58 +0300 )edit

Question tools

Follow
2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2016-08-21 18:42:11 +0300

Seen: 1,263 times

Last updated: Aug 21 '16