Ask / Submit
1

remorse timer bypassed for deletion

asked 2016-10-24 17:56:13 +0300

Simon gravatar image

updated 2016-10-25 14:53:22 +0300

jiit gravatar image

Hi, I spotted this little bug, the remorse timer can be bypassed for instance when deleting a conversation, here how to reproduce :

  1. delete a conversation (a 5 sec remorse timer starts)

  2. right after, open an other conversation (the remorse timer seems to reach 0 instantly, and the conversation is deleted)

  3. you can check its really deleted in less than 5 seconds

Regards,

Simon

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

3

this is not for delay before action, this is for you to have time to cancel action. if you leave page this means you agree with action.

coderus ( 2016-10-24 18:38:14 +0300 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
5

answered 2016-10-24 18:27:54 +0300

nthn gravatar image

This behaviour is more or less the same in every application which makes use of this: if you change pages, the timer is bypassed and the action is immediately executed. I think the reasoning behind this is that if you're going to a different page, it means you're really sure you don't want to cancel the action, so the timer is bypassed.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

Oh, its true for the Galery app, and email as well.

And if its a feature the reasoning behind is rather odd... suppose a user want to delete a message and then read an other :

case bug1) the user select a message, read an other, 5 second after the message is actually deleted, its ok

case bug2) the user select a message, read and other, and "oh, shit ! wrong message", he go back and stop the countdown, so its ok

case feature1) the user didn't made a mistake, same as bug1 without the 5 seconds, its ok

case feature2) the user made a mistake, the timer was useless, the user is screwed

Simon ( 2016-10-24 18:44:58 +0300 )edit
1

@Simon it's not meant to be a complete restore-function that would bring back everything you accidentally deleted, no matter what you did meanwhile. it's just a very nice way to avoid the "are you sure?" question of the old days. like "are you sure?" didn't help anything when you accidentally deleted the file and accidentally answered "yes", the remorse timer can't save you when you accidentally deleted the file and accidentally left the screen instead of tapping on the timer. There has to be a balance between foolproof and getting in the way. Otherwise you'd end up with the "Are you sure you are sure?"-dialog you find in cartoons.

ossi1967 ( 2016-10-25 00:01:06 +0300 )edit

@ossi1967 : I am perfectly aware of that, and never said anything that way. My only point is "what is the semantics of the remorse timer ?" if its "actually perform the action requested by the user 5 seconds after he requested it" then this is a bug. And this is to me the most reasonable and simple semantics.

If its "actually perform the action requested by the user 5 seconds after he requested it, except if he switch to an other page, then delete it, if he swiched to an other app its ok tho, wait 5 seconds, and [insert the other particular cases here if any]". In my opinion, it is not a semantic that one could expect.

Simon ( 2016-10-25 00:14:42 +0300 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2016-10-24 17:56:13 +0300

Seen: 105 times

Last updated: Oct 24 '16