We have moved to a new Sailfish OS Forum. Please start new discussions there.
3

Notes: cancel editing

asked 2014-01-17 11:34:29 +0300

Vivien gravatar image

updated 2014-01-17 18:54:30 +0300

We cannot cancel editing of a note, and at the moment, to save the edition, one must pull to the right. It is not coherent with the sailfish' UI, and can lead to notes loss. A pull to the right should cancel the editing, and to the left should save the note.

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

The left swipe has similar meaning in other contexts:

  • E-Mail: Sends the current e-mail
  • Jolla Store: Installs the current app

I am not happy about this either: Saving/sending/installing just by a swipe with no chance to revert is too little user action/attention for such a heavy result.

jgr ( 2014-01-17 12:36:47 +0300 )edit

@jgr it is called pull when from inside the screen and swipe from outside (I cannot edit your comment so please do it yourself)

chemist ( 2014-01-17 13:59:05 +0300 )edit

@chemist: "Sorry, comments (except the last one) are editable only within 10 minutes from posting"

jgr ( 2014-01-17 17:03:38 +0300 )edit

"to save the edition one must pull to the left": Sure? Pull to the right. Alternatively, you may open a new note. Actually, even when you close the Notes app, the current version is saved: There seems to be no "revert to last saved version": Any change is automatically the new and saved version.

jgr ( 2014-01-17 17:10:09 +0300 )edit

It depends on how you interpret "pull to the left". For me, "to the left" denote the movement of my finger. Maybe I used the wrong denomination? I also remarked that any change is automatically saved, but what I mean is that it seems incoherent that a pull to the left don't cancel the edition.

Vivien ( 2014-01-17 17:34:39 +0300 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
-1

answered 2014-01-17 18:19:32 +0300

Henque19 gravatar image

It's just a simple notes app, IMHO there is no real need to save or cancel. A pull to the right (i.e. moving the finger to the right) will get you back to the notes browser and pulling left doesn't do anything. Saving is unnecessary as the note is saved automatically.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

I agree that saving is unnecessary, however I'd like to have the possibility to cancel the change I made.

Vivien ( 2014-01-17 18:52:50 +0300 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2014-01-17 11:34:29 +0300

Seen: 104 times

Last updated: Jan 17 '14