Ask / Submit
40

[bug] "forget" function does not fully forget WiFi networks

asked 2014-01-17 18:26:27 +0200

MMx gravatar image

updated 2014-02-12 23:41:52 +0200

When I select "forget network" in a previously saved network, only the password is deleted from the config file, and it is set to "Favorite=false". So now it doesn't show up on the UI, but internally it is still known.

Also the "data" and "history" files are still there, containing whatever other information. (I don't know connman internals)

It would be better to completely remove the configuration for several reasons:

  1. Privacy: Maybe I don't want any traces of that network left on my phone?
  2. Stability/Reliability: maybe I encounter a network with the same SSID, but some parameters have changed. This might have unwanted side-effects.

Surely there are more reasons, comments welcome.

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

2

Added to https://together.jolla.com/questions/4660

prometoys ( 2014-02-13 00:45:03 +0200 )edit
1

@prometoys The link from your comment has a typo. It should be "/question/":

https://together.jolla.com/question/4660/enhance-basic-privacy/

Great initiative, however!

I wish I could give more than one vote for privacy.

Drekkarian ( 2015-04-25 13:52:12 +0200 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
2

answered 2015-04-25 19:01:07 +0200

tigeli gravatar image

The question has been answered in here.

About the 2nd reason, the values are always initialized to sane defaults when "forget network" happens.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
3 followers

Stats

Asked: 2014-01-17 18:26:27 +0200

Seen: 1,084 times

Last updated: Apr 25 '15