Ask / Submit
20

[Opinion] Terrible UX for new top menu

asked 2018-11-05 03:58:56 +0200

dgolcher gravatar image

updated 2018-11-05 12:11:53 +0200

rozgwi gravatar image

I am well aware this is just my opinion and there is no right or wrong here...

I have been swiping down to close my apps since meego I believe and paid all import taxes to get a Jolla into Costa Rica since day one, using Sailfish and nothing else since it became available.

Fast forward 3.0.0.5 it has been so frustrating with the new menu, yes it looks lovely... but when on an app the most important actions must be contextual to the app be it native or android.

Since installing 3.0.0.5 I have been able con conscientiously swipe down on the borders to close the app twice, just twice... making me have to frustratingly double swipe afterwards to close the menu and the app.

Since the menu is a device menu and no a contextual menu pertaining to the app being used or about to be closed it is my opinion that the centre bulk of the down swiping are should have remained focusing on quick closing the app and the device menu assigned to the sides in a minimal way.

If you are using an app and you need some device menu you conscientiously would go to a more selective gesture to select that option, closing an app is directly related to the app usage and experience and should be as it was before center and the bulk or the gesture area.

Making a decontextualized device menu the prominent down gesture on an app makes NO sense for a user experience. Just my opinion, I love the menu I HATE the placing of its gesture.

Dunno if other people feel the same way. Cheers from Costa Rica, Daniel

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

Yeah I mean we will get used to it but I'm afraid it's too complicated to new users, as nothing suggests that the top menu/closing swipe works that way (if tutorial for that was already done by someone else). Could one swipe gesture (from upper edge to down) somehow be combined to serve both these? First it would close app but swiping further it would turn into this new menu? That would graphically explain the function all the time and user could "cancel" the menu and select app close by swiping back a bit.

goldenm ( 2018-11-05 07:43:19 +0200 )edit
1

In BB OS10 you have to swipe down with two fingers to get the top menu if you use an app. From homescreen it's just a one finger swipe.

dirksche ( 2018-11-05 08:03:36 +0200 )edit

I feel the same way, in that swiping down from the center is more common than from the sides. I have found myself swiping from left / right more tho, so my task switcher looks alot more crowded !

tortoisedoc ( 2018-11-05 10:14:44 +0200 )edit
3

I've been screaming for stuff like that since forever. (havent installed sfos3 yet though) We need a separate gesture for closing apps. (suggested LtoR swipe) Adding close to an already used gesture complicates things, annoys people that are used to it and requires more precision in using the device which is wrong.

ApB ( 2018-11-05 11:20:47 +0200 )edit
4

My experience is the opposite: I don't have any trouble closing apps but always forget about the top menu and go to events view instead. For me swiping closer to an edge is natural when using the phone one-handed.

Aldrog ( 2018-11-05 11:38:24 +0200 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
5

answered 2018-11-09 22:14:09 +0200

DrYak gravatar image

I would vote for making the "top" swipe configurable :

  • current: ⅓ close + ⅓ topmenu + ⅓ close
  • classic: 100% close when in-app.

My opinion : the top menu is actually a cool features, it mostly solves what previously required hacks as Patch: Quick settings on power menu (it brings the settings accessible on power-button, on top swipe from app view, etc).

But in-app isn't necessarily useful. I use a lot of different native apps. I find my self often launching something, using it and closing it. Much more frequently than I find myself fumbling with connection settings.

Also, from workflow point of view: if I need access to quick settings while I'm midway through using some other apps, it's usually to fix a problem (broken connection, wrong Wifi, wrong roaming, etc.) Thus I am first going to diagnose the problem. Sailfish doen't have a top status bar (or $DEITY forbids, an awful ugly notch to put status next to the webcams), but Sailfish has its wonderful "peak" gesture, so I'd very likely be sliding my finger halfway side wise to check the status. If I notice something requiring attention/settings, I'm more likely to finish pulling my fingers all the way to switch to the tile display and pull the menu from there. I have little situations were I need to jump to quick settings straight from the app.

Also, I'm a former Palm/HP webOS user and used to simple closing gesture.

But I understand Jolla's logic :

  • former Android users are used to an always accessible top menu. that can make things easier to transition.
  • some people tend to lock everything down (only turn Bluetooth / Wifi / GPS / etc. on strictly when needed), to them, it makes sense to have a quick access to turning on something right before using it (i.e.: activate Bluetooth right before sharing a picture from the Gallery app) having top menu accessible within apps is useful to them.

Also several gestures are configurable in Sailfish (Quick Events access, Quick access to Camera, Flip to silence), configuring if top menu is available in-apps or if it's close only makes sense in my opinion.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
1

answered 2018-11-09 17:41:20 +0200

roland684 gravatar image

Agreed. It is out of context in the app and an annoying change. it should be (remain) an action for the home screen.

It could make sense when you start swiping the app to the left/right and when (while swiping) you see the home screen, change the swipe direction to downward.

Same is true for swiping up the apps menu, but that is not conflicting with any swipe action in app context.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2018-11-05 03:58:56 +0200

Seen: 1,085 times

Last updated: Nov 09