Ask / Submit
0

Forced downgrading after deactivation of the "early access" !? [answered]

asked 2019-07-28 15:21:14 +0200

sailaway gravatar image

updated 2019-07-28 15:41:03 +0200

Dear Sailors ...... A call for help!

After activating "Early access" - option in the Jolla account, I updated my Xperia X to Sailfish 3.1.0.11. After that I have (stupidly) disabled the "Early access" in the account again. Then I was offered an update for the Xperia, which I also downloaded. After the download I find out that this is the older version (Hossa 3.0.3.10). Now I obviously only have the option to install this version because there is no possibillity to cancel the "Update". Is there a way to stay on the current version and delete the downloaded update without performing the installation, so that future updates are possible again (without downgrade)? (A "Cancel-Button" for stupid newbies would be nice.) Is it possible to use the terminal to correct this error?

I am grateful for every tip.

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "the question is answered, an answer was accepted" by sailaway
close date 2019-07-28 22:45:01.513951

Comments

I'd expect something like this to happen, and I'm always reading those notifications thoroughly.

On my J1, with a non-EA account, I was offered 3.1.0.11 yesterday and I wondered whether this very version was declared stable meanwhile ... but I accepted, and the phone rebooted into .... surprise ... 3.0.1 just to offer me an additional update of 3MB to finally reach 3.1.0. Never experienced something like this before.

So to sum it up: I'm on 3.1.0 without having an EA account, and don't get an offer to downgrade.

Maus ( 2019-07-28 16:05:19 +0200 )edit

Thank you for your reply. Everything was fine in my case. The installed version (3.1.0.11) is a "stable" version. The problem is that I downloaded an older version afterwards (..because of leaving the Early access too early). But I do not want to install it. In order to be able to search for updates again, the old version must be installed. Of course I can install the older version and then update again but that's what I want to avoid. I would like to delete the downloaded image but I don't know how to do it. An EA account is no longer needed to get the version 3.1.0.11. It's no longer "Early access". I have no idea why the update on your phone stops at 3.1.0.

sailaway ( 2019-07-28 16:24:36 +0200 )edit

@DrYak: Thank you so much! That worked for me, Now I can search for "real"-updates in future. Again: Many Thanks! (Please convert your comment to an answer)

sailaway ( 2019-07-28 19:24:22 +0200 )edit

Allow me an additional question: In which folder the image for the update is saved? After I have "un-stuck" the updater i want to delete the unneccessary update-files (downloaded image) to save space on my device.

sailaway ( 2019-07-28 21:52:45 +0200 )edit
1

From the same source:

cache is in /home/.pk-zypp-dist-upgrade-cache/

(There should be a bunch of RPM files there)

DrYak ( 2019-07-28 22:38:05 +0200 )edit

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
2

answered 2019-07-28 18:31:55 +0200

DrYak gravatar image

If the GUI updater is stuck at a step where you can't select "check for updates" from the pulley menu, you can check on the command line (as root, so devel-su) what the current selected version is ssu re and eventually select the correct one ssu re 3.1.0.11.

to "un-stuck" the updater, according to this zendesk byJolla, you need to remove file /home/nemo/.cache/sailfish-osupdateservice/os-info.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2019-07-28 15:21:14 +0200

Seen: 124 times

Last updated: Jul 28