We have moved to a new Sailfish OS Forum. Please start new discussions there.
10

"Deleted" or "Deleting" [released]

asked 2019-12-19 12:03:42 +0200

Dam gravatar image

updated 2020-01-29 21:40:21 +0200

Firefox84 gravatar image

Hi everybody,

edit2: Actually, if you delete a message that you opened from the preview pane, it says "Deleting email" but if you delete a mail from the account itself (or long press from the preview pane" it says deleted ? why the same action does not act the same way according to where the mail is deleted from ?

image description

edit : I actually switched my phone to english. It says "Deleted" and not "Deleting". Wouldn't be more appropriate to use here "Deleting" when deleting an email ?

I searched https://translate.sailfishos.org/fr/translate/#search=supprim%C3%A9&sfields=source,target&unit=543373 to try to make a translation suggestion but could not find what I was looking for. When a mail (and maybe other stuff) is deleting is shows "Supprimé". I think "Suppression" would be more appropriate

image description

image description

Firefox84 Why not "supprimer"? Sounds the most natural to me :)

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "released in a software update" by rozgwi
close date 2020-04-12 18:29:36.053029

Comments

Good finding!But...
You've already found it through your link... The last below
https://translate.sailfishos.org/fr/translate/#search=supprim%C3%A9&sfields=source,target&unit=513657
Here after search for "supprimé" https://translate.sailfishos.org/fr/translate/#search=supprim%C3%A9&sfields=source,target

As you can see in english is removed... the former word would be wrong too...

cemoi71 ( 2019-12-19 12:33:16 +0200 )edit

According to you, that the object still not removed, could be in English "remove" or "removing"...

cemoi71 ( 2019-12-19 15:10:45 +0200 )edit
1

yes I bet in english it should say "Removing". I'll update the title to suggest it

Dam ( 2019-12-19 15:25:36 +0200 )edit

The way I understand it, the item is already deleted, but you have 5 seconds to reverse that decision.

So for it to say "Deleted" is not technically wrong, as it is already deleted, rather than "removing", which makes no sense as the item is really deleted, unless you hit undo, which of course, undoes the deletion process and leaves the item intact.

Spam Hunter ( 2019-12-19 16:51:07 +0200 )edit
7

The thing is, there is at the moment:

"Deleted" and "Cancel"

Pressing "Cancel" cancels the removal. So far so good.

But you can actually also press "Deleted", which immediately deletes the item.

And I think that's pretty wrong UX wise:

  • "Deleted" does not imply an action, so many people will not discover they can press it to accelerate the removal (I only found this out by accident)
    • it's a lie basically, the item is not yet deleted, it will only be once the remorse timer times out or once you press "Deleted"
    • worse, as "Deleted" does not imply action, people might thing it either does nothing or pressing it is the same as pressing "Cancel" directly - boom, your data is gone!
    • it's not entirely clear where the "Deleted" & "Cancel" touch areas start and end, so one could delete stuff by accident due to miss-click

Possible solutions:

  • have a text "deleting item_name" with buttons or at least clearly delimited touch area below saying "Delete" and "Cancel"
  • at at least make it possible to discer what's clickable on the remorse timer & make it less likely you will delete something then you press "Cancell" too much to the left
MartinK ( 2019-12-19 17:47:27 +0200 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2020-04-12 17:21:03 +0200

Dam gravatar image

The problem is now solved as in the latest version 3.3.0.14, we have the "tap to cancel" back, so no more confusion possible :)

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

so it can be considered solved

rozgwi ( 2020-04-12 18:29:20 +0200 )edit

so it can be considered solved

I am not convinced yet.


I have not seen it yet in action (and definitely not for all use cases).

But the screenshot from @navi in this other remorse popoup thread shows it for one.

It says:

Tap to cancel
Deleting...

and shows an 'X' to the side.

peterleinchen ( 2020-04-13 11:55:38 +0200 )edit
1

@peterleinchen:
you're mixing two separate issues. this question is about the wording, not the UI with the probably questionable 'x'.

let's try to not confuse things further as they are already with TJC questions and duplicates ;-)

rozgwi ( 2020-04-14 12:55:52 +0200 )edit

@rozgwi
Yes, you are so right.

Nevertheless these two things go together and the wording could be part of the solution. For me 'tap to cancel' and 'deleting' sounds okay.
(different topic: just that is does not match the X on another -not recognizable as another- part of that panel)

  • List item
peterleinchen ( 2020-04-14 13:47:07 +0200 )edit
0

answered 2020-01-29 21:56:46 +0200

naytsyrhc gravatar image

I think the answer for that is release 3.2.1. See also here: https://together.jolla.com/question/219487/having-remorses-for-your-remorse-timer-redesign/

The behaviour was changed. As clearly explained in question (see link) the behaviour was that the action was about to be executed (deleting) and the possibility existed to cancel that action before it was executed.

The behaviour now is, that the action is executed immediately and you have some time to undo the action (thus "deleted").

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

I think that issue was discussed quite a few times here. If I remember correctly, I also suggested in one of the discussions, to do it the new way (as it is e.g. also done in gnome file manager nautilus).

naytsyrhc ( 2020-01-29 21:58:57 +0200 )edit
1

I understand it's the way it's been decided (although it's not intuitive imho) but in that case why sometimes it says "deleting" and sometimes it says "deleted" for the same action ? in both cases I delete an email. If I delete a mail opened from the preview pane it says "deleting" If I delete a mail by other means it says "deleted"

Dam ( 2020-01-30 11:34:20 +0200 )edit
1

The behaviour is still the same as several releases ago, in that the object that says "deleted, tap to confirm" is not actually deleted until the timer runs out or you tap on the notification.

nthn ( 2020-01-30 11:40:51 +0200 )edit

But I think that this is due to the fact that it's not consistently changed everywhere yet. E.g. in Gallery app it is a new behaviour that is consistent with naming. Probably it is intended to change that everywhere.

naytsyrhc ( 2020-01-30 12:31:40 +0200 )edit

Question tools

Follow
4 followers

Stats

Asked: 2019-12-19 12:03:42 +0200

Seen: 748 times

Last updated: Apr 12 '20