Confirmable remorse timer [duplicate]

asked 2014-03-11 10:20:47 +0300

Upp15 gravatar image

updated 2014-07-28 11:01:39 +0300

jiit gravatar image

There have been requests to make the remorse timer configurable. In my mind 5 sec default is ok to prevent e.g. accidental deletes. But when I'm deleting something on purpose, it is a bit of an annoyance to have to wait that long.

So, it would be good to be able to confirm the (delete) operation by some gesture while the timer is ticking ?

EDIT: This is definitely not duplicate, I'm not talking about configuration options here. That's why I reopen this. The remorse timer enables cancelling the operation, my suggestion is, that it could also enable confirming it.

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "duplicate question" by 00prometheus
close date 2014-04-08 02:57:05.491535

Comments

2

I think this is one of the best features. You can easily swipe away to do other tasks whilst the remorse timer is running. This system is IMHO genius. So many times on my PC I have automatically clicked a second confirmation box by mistake/habit. This remorse timer gives you that valuable think time.

I think you should learn to love it ;)

bockersjv ( 2014-03-11 10:31:13 +0300 )edit

Are there many situations in that you actually have to wait? Most of the time, I can delete and then just go on an do something else, the only exception I have found so far is when the remorse timer overlays the "back button" in the top left corner: no way to go back to the previous view before the timer has timed out...

tokaru ( 2014-03-11 10:32:37 +0300 )edit
1

Eh, you mention it yourself:

There have been requests to make the remorse timer configurable.

Duplicate of https://together.jolla.com/question/3244/why-not-make-remorse-timer-and-related-actions-configurable-in-settings/

Tanghus ( 2014-03-11 12:10:51 +0300 )edit

@tokaru, "when the remorse timer overlays the "back button" in the top left corner: no way to go back to the previous view before the timer has timed out...". To go back to previous "page" you just swipe towards right like you did (or should've done) in the tutorial from the initial Jolla set up. I never use those "buttons". Swipe to left for "next page/next step", "install", "accept", "yes" etc. Swipe to right for "go back", "don't install/accept", "no".

spacenewt ( 2014-03-11 17:59:44 +0300 )edit

@Tanghus What I'm not looking for is a configurable remorse time. But ok, in the comments of that referred question was also suggestions close to what I had in mind. Btw, I didn't know, that I could swipe away and leave the action to be completed...the remorse timer gives the impression, that if I touch the phone in any way, the action will be cancelled. And in some cases I don't want to swipe away but stay.

Upp15 ( 2014-03-11 18:02:57 +0300 )edit