Ask / Submit
5

What does "Reset device" actually do? [answered]

asked 2013-12-27 03:17:25 +0200

updated 2014-01-10 19:59:44 +0200

lk gravatar image

Just wondering if there is a clear explanation of what the "Reset Device" functionality actually does.

Before I hack/play too much with the filesystem, I wanted to check if "Reset Device" just clears out the user data and settings, or if the entire filesystem is somehow restored?

My understanding is that the recovery image/partition is not currently used, so I don't think it resets the partition?

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "the question is answered, an answer was accepted" by LaruX
close date 2013-12-29 14:16:30.065348

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
11

answered 2013-12-27 10:13:03 +0200

Stskeeps gravatar image

It reverts the phone totally back to factory state. It clears out user data. We use this functionality in our factory too.

Technically, it restores your file system snapshot for / and /home to factory snapshot. We use BTRFS so it's quite cheap operation.

In the future we can do more fine grained stuff, but for /home it's a bit particular since we have configuration data there that may not be understood by an older version. Ie, revert to "this snapshot" or "snapshot my device every 24 hours and clean them up after 7 days"

Recovery partition will do same operation as a factory reset, will require a device lock code if one exists.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

Great thanks! That makes me more comfortable to go around poking at things now that I know it's an entire file system snapshot, and not just /home :).

mattaustin ( 2013-12-27 13:16:28 +0200 )edit

"Snapshot" sounds good, looking forward to it.

ortylp ( 2013-12-31 19:21:28 +0200 )edit

EH? In the case "when partition is broken" .. where "Recovery partition" takes snapshots for recovery ?? Recovery partition must have image of data for partition on secure place. "btrfs revert-to-snapshot" is wrong idea and can not be used.

Kaacz ( 2014-03-06 19:14:05 +0200 )edit

So, if one has a "first one" jolla, one would be back to the original system and need to go through 10 updates manually? I should do a factory reset, as my phone as some trouble (probably due to some 3rd party packages from openrepos), but the idea of going through all these updates discourage me to do so...

arno784 ( 2015-02-28 20:49:53 +0200 )edit

Question tools

Follow
2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2013-12-27 03:17:25 +0200

Seen: 300 times

Last updated: Dec 27 '13