Ask / Submit
7

Why does store client send notification to Jolla about dev mode?

asked 2014-04-11 12:43:08 +0200

Acce gravatar image

updated 2014-07-18 16:29:14 +0200

jiit gravatar image

In the newest release notes, it says that store client "Notifies Jolla about developer mode activation for the Jolla account configured on the device". Why is this? Because of the guarantee?

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

This item also drew my attention in the changelog. Normally, I would have frowned upon something like this, but I trust Jolla to have good intentions. I appreciate the answers to this question.

Drekkarian ( 2014-04-11 21:52:43 +0200 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
6

answered 2014-04-11 13:48:51 +0200

bijjal gravatar image

Yes, it does help us in handling warranty issues, but mainly, it helps us to understand if something was a cause of our system, or due to modifications done by a developer. If flag isn't there, we don't need to investigate deeper. If it is there, we need to do detailed analysis to determine where problem originated.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

So Jolla gets also a full history of commands submitted under developer mode?

c.la ( 2014-04-11 15:07:56 +0200 )edit
2

No, the only thing transmitted is _if_ developer mode was activated, nothing else.

Aard ( 2014-04-11 15:31:58 +0200 )edit
1

I am not quite with you!

  • Activating developer mode does not mean that you actually use it.
  • Using developer mode does not mean that you can break your device – as long as you do not sudo, you should not be able to break your device.
  • When I change just the keyboard layout, this should not have any influence on for example WiFi problems. So even having sudo'ed at some time, this does not mean that you can simply ignore an existing problem.
  • What about people having a problem and using developer mode to investigate the problem? Because they used developer mode, they now are blamed for being the cause of their problem?
jgr ( 2014-04-12 02:19:55 +0200 )edit

I agree with jgr. I had to enable developer mode for fixing the third party apps bug after updating to 1.0.3.8. After that fix, I disabled developer mode again. These days I only enable developer mode to copy photos from the device to my pc via wlan using scp.

szobi ( 2014-04-12 16:49:30 +0200 )edit
5

answered 2014-04-11 13:44:40 +0200

rainisto gravatar image

updated 2014-04-11 13:46:19 +0200

Yes, because dev mode may have warranty implications if end user bricks their device on purpose. And its also nice to know how many developers there are out in the wild.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
3 followers

Stats

Asked: 2014-04-11 12:43:08 +0200

Seen: 368 times

Last updated: Apr 11 '14