We have moved to a new Sailfish OS Forum. Please start new discussions there.
2

facebook contacts in people app when sync is not activated

asked 2014-04-15 23:26:09 +0300

MaxT gravatar image

I have experienced that facebook contacts sync with people app even when syncronisation is deactivated. Always when I put my faceboook status on 'online' all facebook contacts appear in the peopla app.

edit retag flag offensive close delete

1 Answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
2

answered 2014-04-16 04:45:15 +0300

chris.adams gravatar image

What you are seeing are XMPP (Facebook Chat) buddies, rather than synchronized contacts. These are still exposed as People so that you can message them, and so that messages from them will be displayed correctly.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

Thank you for the answer, I did not notice this possibiliy. Now I can understand the phone's behaviour. Is there a way to prevent it?

MaxT ( 2014-04-16 09:00:50 +0300 )edit
1

@MaxT yes, don't use it. People is your aggregated Contacts from all services you use. If you are scared by facebook knowing your contacts, this is not the case! The facebook-chat's roster gets downloaded to the phone but not the other way round, no contacts are uploaded to facebook.

chemist ( 2014-04-16 12:07:58 +0300 )edit
1

@chemist, this behavior (or something similar to it) is happening to my Jolla now after update 7. And it just shows up at random in fact. My facebook status is set on offline in Jolla and yet these "chat buddies" somehow got in my people-app list. So is there anyway to remove it? It's not about being "scared" that facebook knowing my contacts. But rather it completely clutters up the contact list in my phone. I have a couple of hundred "friends" on facebook and most of them I don't even have contact with outside of facebook. Now they're all showing up on the list. This behavior without possibility to filter it is stupid and crazy imho.

spacenewt ( 2014-06-22 01:39:41 +0300 )edit

@spacenewt I think deactivating facebook, or deleting the account will clear that up. I have everything but sharing deactivated, as gallery was constantly bugging about an internet connection, my people got cluttered and so on. I have no device at hand and did not test this lately, I have my contacts all merged and stuff back on N900 already, it is a hell of a work to do but with the contacts management of Maemo5+6 this was a charm, on SFOS it is pretty painful atm, People needs to improve alot to meet expectations and make addressbooks with 3,4,500 entries usable again.

chemist ( 2014-06-22 12:37:25 +0300 )edit

@chemist, yes, it looks like the only way I can do this is to remove the facebook account from setting. A bit disappointing.

spacenewt ( 2014-06-22 14:09:09 +0300 )edit
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2014-04-15 23:26:09 +0300

Seen: 247 times

Last updated: Apr 16 '14