Ask / Submit
7

Sending review units to tech bloggers/youtubers

asked 2014-11-19 22:03:29 +0300

this post is marked as community wiki

This post is a wiki. Anyone with karma >75 is welcome to improve it.

updated 2014-12-09 22:42:49 +0300

satya gravatar image

If jolla will be able to send some review units to the top tech bloggers so that it will help a lot to the people who are intrested to buy jolla products....

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

I wanted to give mine to a local website for a review. I thouht it would be a nice idea and contribution to the readers and to Jolla. But communication was broke before it could happen because they were not able to send me a contract or something. And I didnt want to give my $$$ phone to a stranger. So yes, if Jolla could send a few review units around the www tech sites that would be helpful for people.

Macilaci457 ( 2014-11-19 22:16:52 +0300 )edit

yes you are right...

satya ( 2014-11-19 22:23:51 +0300 )edit

Engagdet and TheVerge reviews are horrible because they were done at the end of 2013. Many of my friends referred to them to claim they're not interested in the Jolla product. This is seriously damaging the Jolla's image. They should definitely try Jolla with the latest OS update.

chinauser ( 2014-11-20 09:51:42 +0300 )edit

Please don't artificially bump your own post if it's only been a couple of days since it was last bumped.

nthn ( 2014-12-09 23:32:14 +0300 )edit

3 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
15

answered 2014-11-19 22:35:07 +0300

Okw gravatar image

There's a risk involved regarding unfinished products. Especially since software is half the product and many bloggers and tech sites aren't so forgiving. (I think we all agree that Sailfish still has unfinished edges...) Many of the sites would certainly compare it to seemingly similar products (iPad, Nexus, Galaxy Tabs, ...), which in many aspects is just simply unfair.

If I were to decide, I would not send out samples for review.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

1

So that Jolla could 'trick' as many people as possible to buy the device? I don't want to believe that Jolla marketing is based on misleading the customers.

Nasty exaggeration, I know, but that's how not sending any review copies would look like.

Tuke ( 2014-11-20 01:23:15 +0300 )edit

Comparing is unavoidable for sure. But that´s what we do ourselves anyway. Maybe the reviewer should not be from the highest rated rewiew site. But Jolla needs reviews in EVERY LANGUAGE in every country. Even after a few english blogs and reviews my people was asking for a review from a local phone review site. Most of them wont buy it without that.

Macilaci457 ( 2014-11-20 07:38:50 +0300 )edit
1

@Okw seems to be talking mainly about the Tablet? I don't know what kind of prototype Jolla even has ready. And it wouldn't make any sense to give it to any reviewer without Sailfish 2.0 at least halfway ready. After all, the Tablet won't be shipping for months.

But if you're talking about the phone, "protecting" it from reviewers would be cheating customers. It's been out for a year, Sailfish is not (called) beta anymore; it should be a finished product and it must be compared to other products (with similar price tags). That's not unfair.

ssahla ( 2014-11-20 09:17:42 +0300 )edit

@ssahla, sorry for being unclear. I indeed was talking about the Tablet. Regarding the Jolla phone I don't see why not send units to bloggers and reviewers at the moment as it is. Afterall, many of us (incl. myself) are using it as the primary cellphone. The risk is there especially with unfinished products. To be honest, the Jolla phone was quite immature at its initial release in 2013Q4.

@Tuke, tricking is one way to put it. Afterall, marketing and sales are a quite nasty business. Faith in the company and was one of the reasons why I bought the Jolla back in 2013. I still have faith since I now ordered the tablet. Many others seem to have it too. Let's hope these faithful sailors spread the word and deliver reviews for the potential new sailors.

Okw ( 2014-11-20 14:35:06 +0300 )edit

a good reviewer should be able to produce a fair review, we might be sailors and forgive Jolla for missing things, but those issues should be addressed otherwise the criticism is ... right! Hopefully the SailfishOS 2.0 will be really ready for the challenge!

pmelas ( 2014-11-21 14:10:10 +0300 )edit
1

answered 2014-11-19 22:57:39 +0300

satya gravatar image

Yes you are right.. But people should know the what are the unique functionality of jolla products.. And I am dam sure they will definitely appreciate it. People cannot buy products blindly.. now a days most of people following some tech bloggers and youtubers and purchasing products after their review... so as per my point of view its a good idea to send some sample units to them... it will help for both the buyer and seller.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
1

answered 2014-11-20 05:34:14 +0300

I believe Jolla is already doing it. Check here - When they launched in India through Snapdeal online store. I have read reviews by popular news channels and gadget sites here, in India. Also, remember coming across a tweet where some blogger asked for a piece and got it.

Units on display, presumably in a press conference

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
2 followers

Stats

Asked: 2014-11-19 22:03:29 +0300

Seen: 1,210 times

Last updated: Dec 09 '14