Ask / Submit
-10

Cancel exFAT! License Microsoft's Pureview Pro [answered]

asked 2014-12-05 18:52:07 +0300

unlikeyou gravatar image

updated 2014-12-05 22:20:44 +0300

pulsar gravatar image

I heard that 128GB is an expensive micro sdcard.

Jolla team should use the fund to pay for Microsoft pureview pro licence instead in the jolla 2

edit retag flag offensive reopen delete

The question has been closed for the following reason "the question is answered, an answer was accepted" by simo
close date 2014-12-05 22:19:19.116490

Comments

2

I do not even know what that is... But I am afraid that is not in the cards now.

We may or not like it, but Jolla has committed to "support 128GB cards", whatever they mean with it, when they announced the stretch goals. And I do not think it would be fair to back out now, after the goal is reached. There might be people counting on it, as there is people clamouring against it...

But convert the question to "license Pureview Pro for Jolla tablet" and let us see who stands behind that.

mikelima ( 2014-12-05 19:01:29 +0300 )edit

Pureview is a combination of a large (41 Mpx) camera sensor plus an imaging processing algorithm used in Nokias' Pureview- line of phones, so it would mean changing the hardware as well. So... Nope.

Kayakist ( 2014-12-05 19:46:59 +0300 )edit

As you can read in other hardware-request-threads the hardware specs are already freezed therefore I closed the question for not being relevant. If there are any other thoughts please Comment and I will re-open it.

drummer12 ( 2014-12-05 21:40:45 +0300 )edit

I was wrong. My knowledge was related to an old post, which were updated with this statement from Jolla sorry for being to fast with closing, there might be a slight chance for hardware changes.

drummer12 ( 2014-12-05 21:50:50 +0300 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
7

answered 2014-12-05 19:28:03 +0300

Titanium gravatar image

updated 2014-12-05 19:28:46 +0300

Do Jolla have increased the price of the tablet for the 128 GB micro sdcard? NO, so what you're talking about? Now we have something more for the same price. If you do not like it do not put any card there greater the 32GB and you should be fine.

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

You are right but I think that OP Unlike means that if you are to go go shopping at MS, Pureview is nicer thing to obtain than exFat support. Anyway, I am sure PV is better on a camera phone than a tablet. Although taking pictures with a 7 inch tablet with Jolla sticker on it at tourist spots amidst iPad photographers would at least put the Jolla brand in the picture and if people would ask and see the picture quality... I think it could actually kick off.

Technically there is still a way out for Jolla. They have only promised that 128GB would work on their SDHC tablet. No exFat or SDXC here:

Once we reach the first goal, every Jolla Tablet will be upgraded to support microSDHC cards up to 128GB! You’ll never have to worry about running out of space again. Currently Jolla Tablet supports cards up to 32GB, besides having 32GB internal storage.

vandersmash ( 2014-12-05 21:01:32 +0300 )edit
1

answered 2014-12-05 21:07:08 +0300

chemist gravatar image

PureView is a trademark not a technology, anyone can build high resolution cameras into their devices...

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

2

I understand Carl Zeiss joint ventured with Nokia some 10 years ago to work on mobile phone cameras, it's a German-Finnish partnership so Zeiss would not have expected to have to work (exclusively) with an American firm like Microsoft ! Therefore, perhaps Nokia / Jolla would now look into anyways such that Zeiss can now work exclusively with Jolla (instead of Microsoft which clearly was not in the picture when the Nokia-Zeiss jv was established) so that this unique German-Finnish partnership can continue to newer heights !

Hseochin ( 2014-12-05 23:12:04 +0300 )edit

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2014-12-05 18:52:07 +0300

Seen: 602 times

Last updated: Dec 05 '14