Ask / Submit
3

When I reset my Jolla back to factory default, I need to update all the firmwares again?

asked 2014-02-05 18:19:55 +0200

jollabeginner gravatar image

Why is it that when I reset my Jolla back to factory default, I need to update all the firmwares again?

edit retag flag offensive close delete

Comments

This question looks very related to https://together.jolla.com/question/44042/always-reset-jolla-to-the-latest-firmwarenot-the-factory-version. But they have one little difference:

  • this one is: Why is it so?
  • the linked one is: Please change it (with ongoing discussion).
ralooyar ( 2014-11-27 12:19:37 +0200 )edit

2 Answers

Sort by » oldest newest most voted
7

answered 2014-02-05 19:26:10 +0200

tigeli gravatar image

It is because the "factory reset-image" is flashed (tech: it's a btrfs snapshot) to the device at the factory.

Currently we do not support updating this image during system upgrade. I understand it takes bit time to upgrade the system to the latest version after the reset but upgrading the factory reset-image during the upgrade would either make the upgrade size (in MB) much bigger and/or complex. This might of course change in the future. :)

edit flag offensive delete publish link more

Comments

This is a good technical explanation of that downgrade

debexpert ( 2014-02-05 20:16:13 +0200 )edit
4

answered 2014-02-05 18:48:53 +0200

Hi jollabeginner, The device performs a downgrade, that's good because maybe some users need a certain software version to run their apps and mainly because if a newer software version has some possible bug you can resolve quickly returning to a version that was working. Also this way the progress of bug corrections (debugging) is monitored by Jolla with the help of users that give feedback here for example (and onto other channels) and I think Jolla considered to manage this giving us the freedom of downgrading, like it was on a distro for PC, where you can choose the version you want/need by formatting. Remeber that on N9 you were unable to do it so sometimes by resetting you resolved nothing ;) I'd say 'Thanks Jolla for giving us such downgrade'. With downgrade I have resolved a couple of issues I had on developer mode activation. Regards

edit flag offensive delete publish link more
Login/Signup to Answer

Question tools

Follow
1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2014-02-05 18:19:55 +0200

Seen: 807 times

Last updated: Feb 05 '14